What Do You Want to Read about Here in ‘23?

More fish? Digital distraction? Russia? Environment? Tell me.

Paul Greenberg
2 min readFeb 16, 2023

--

Photo by Kourosh Qaffari on Unsplash

I’m heading into my second year of writing a column for Medium and I’m trying to get a sense of the kinds of things readers would like to find on my page in 2023. What I know just from the numbers is that the 60,000 or so that currently follow this page were partial to certain themes. Quitting Facebook was a particularly vibrant topic as was the way iPhones interfere with quiet, private endeavors like walking. Above all readers seemed to have a longing for peace and tech-free escape. Particularly with respect to climate change.

Readers benefitted from my being slightly ahead of the curve on things like cryptocurrency and organized crime and the need to give up gas stoves.

But readers also had questions about the Russian invasion. Since I worked in media in the former Soviet Union throughout the 1990s and have something of an inside line into the post-Soviet thought process I had a few things to say in reaction to Putin’s war. Readers responded particularly strongly to the question of Why the Russian Army is so cruel and also the degree to which contemporary Russians are governed by a complicated code of honor.

--

--

Paul Greenberg

New York Times bestselling author of Four Fish as well as The Climate Diet and Goodbye Phone, Hello World paulgreenberg.org