Is Anywhere Safe from Climate Change?

My search for an acre of escape

Paul Greenberg
4 min readDec 17, 2021

--

“Granite erratic, Dudmaston” by Richard Webb is licensed under CC BY-SA 2.0. To view a copy of this license, visit https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/2.0/?ref=openverse&atype=rich

It was the rock that caught my eye. Dappled with lichen and lighted by the afternoon sun, it appeared to be the perfect place for contemplation. A spot where you could sit and write your novel, ponder your place in the universe, and perhaps reach some kind of equilibrium with the planet.

I came upon the rock right as I was about to give up my hunt for land. Like many people in the last few years, I cannot stop thinking about escape. Escape from the pandemic, escape from the bad news of climate change, escape from the constant dread of what was to come next. I found myself imagining an ideal corner of the world where I might at the very least have a few moments peace from the human onslaught that seems to be upending everything that we think of as natural.

North enough to insulate from ever harsher summers, high enough to have an additional buffer since things get about 1.5 Celsius cooler for every 1000 feet of elevation

And so, I began looking for that corner in the Adirondack Mountains of New York state. Why the Adirondacks? As I explained in an article for Adirondack Life Magazine the Adirondacks appear to be something of a safe haven…

--

--

Paul Greenberg

New York Times bestselling author of Four Fish as well as The Climate Diet and Goodbye Phone, Hello World paulgreenberg.org