The Truth About Fish Oil

Heart disease, depression, diabetes, memory loss. Omega-3 fish oil has been touted as a panacea. But what does the science say?

Paul Greenberg
10 min readAug 2, 2018

--

iStock/Getty

I recently learned from an eminent cardiologist that around half of all patients first report heart disease to their doctors by dropping dead. No conversation where the physician lays on a tender hand and whispers, “I’m a little worried about your triglycerides.” Just fibrillation followed by abrupt arrest. Boom. Finis.

To date, no one has succeeded at pinpointing the exact cause of sudden cardiac death. Is it a chemical imbalance in the body owing to years of bad dietary habits? Is it an electrical short circuit where the heart fails to get the right signals across misfiring cell membranes? No one quite knows. But a significant amount of medical researchers think it might have something to do with the omega-3 fatty acid.

What first drew me to the omega question was the same thing that draws most people to omega-3s. I was approaching 50. My blood pressure was higher, my heart rate elevated, my energy diminished. Cholesterol, the bad kind, flirted with requiring medication. When I indulged the late-night urge to troll the dark web of the supplement world, searching for some nonpharmaceutical way around all of these afflictions, standing at…

--

--

Paul Greenberg

New York Times bestselling author of Four Fish as well as The Climate Diet and Goodbye Phone, Hello World paulgreenberg.org