The Best Plant for a Hot Planet

This crop is a climate change champ

Paul Greenberg
2 min readAug 30, 2022

--

A salad green that climbs, prospers in shade and sun, grows fast and tastes good

Do you have a difficult garden? I do. I’ve been working the same slab of concrete here at Ground Zero in lower Manhattan, trying to achieve what I call “salad self-sufficiency” for 15 years. And thanks to a crop I discovered a few years back, I think I may have finally done it.

The plant in question is Basella alba more commonly known as malabar spinach. I discovered it in an Asian vegetable seed catalogue and decided to give it a go. Because I have limited horizontal space, but plenty of vertical, I wanted to find a salad green that could go up as well as out. Moreover, because temperatures on my terrace can be 5–10 degrees hotter than street level, I needed something that beat the heat if I wanted to have salad after the cool, well, salad days of spring had passed.

It’s nice knowing that as autumns and springs get swallowed up by hotter and longer summers the home gardener does not have have to abandon crisp, nutritious salad greens.

According to the University of Madison-Wisconsin’s ag extension team, Malabar spinach is native to tropical Asia with a likely origin point of Sri Lanka or Indonesia. It is a “semi-succulent” meaning that it has…

--

--

Paul Greenberg

New York Times bestselling author of Four Fish as well as The Climate Diet and Goodbye Phone, Hello World paulgreenberg.org