No Thanks, “Threads”

Meta, the attention burglar, tries again

Paul Greenberg
2 min readJul 17, 2023

--

Photo by Nico Nazaire on Unsplash

I quit Facebook, Instagram and every other property owned by Meta nearly three years ago. It was at the time a rash decision and at first many of my friends and family wondered where I had “gone.” Soon, though, the people who mattered “found” me. It wasn’t a hard thing to do. I was always here. Soon after that, the daily flow of my life started to change.

With Meta in panic mode, trying with its new service “Threads” to morph yet again into something that will steal our attention, I find myself shaking my head at the 100 million+ “users” who quickly signed up. How many disguises must these attention burglars invent before we realize that we are not users but, rather used.

So if you’re one of the remaining 7.7 billion people on this planet who have yet to sign up for Threads, I thought I’d just lay out here some of things that changed once I said goodbye to Zuckerberg and Co.

Here goes:

  1. I get the news from reporters who are professionally trained to discern bullshit from reality

2. I read the news once in the morning and call it a day

3. I am the first out of the house on a bike or a run

--

--

Paul Greenberg

New York Times bestselling author of Four Fish as well as The Climate Diet and Goodbye Phone, Hello World paulgreenberg.org