Manhattan’s Best (And Only) Local Wine

Paul Greenberg
3 min readApr 22, 2022
Château Nul in larval form

This Earth Day, I’m bottling wine.

Not just any wine. But wine from the grapes I grow on my terrace garden at Ground Zero in Manhattan. Buffeted by wind, scorched by Gotham dog days, this is a small, sad terroir.

For this reason, I call my vineyard Château Nul.

How small and sad are we talking? In France, the word “nul” literally means zero. But figuratively “nul” is used to describe someone who is, well, a loser. So, I suppose I try to underwhelm with my marketing. Our terroir is literally zero — Ground Zero. My capacity is pathetic. Nearly nul. If I’m lucky, I get a three-pound harvest of grapes every year. It’s fermented by a winemaker friend and turned into exactly 750 ml of wine. I comfort myself about this small production with the firm belief that I am the only wine producer on the island of Manhattan. Reader, please correct me if I’ve got this wrong.

This year, after a torrential downpour, the sun came out and I hopped on a Citi Bike to ride down to the winery. I would tell you which one, but keeping it a secret is more fun (and probably the smarter legal decision).

My winemaker is a cross between a gnarled sailor, a tender sommelier, and a crass stand-up comedian. He greeted me outside and immediately began a random rant about the origins of Napolitano cuisine with an…

--

--

Paul Greenberg

New York Times bestselling author of Four Fish as well as The Climate Diet and Goodbye Phone, Hello World paulgreenberg.org