I’m Not Your Psychiatrist, I’m Your Life Coach!

New survival strategies for mental health professionals

Paul Greenberg
3 min readMay 26, 2021

--

“Empathy” by sinclair.sharon28 is licensed with CC BY 2.0. To view a copy of this license, visit https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0/

I think it’s time we discussed your therapy. I am enclosing here the bill for your 158 missed sessions. But that’s not what’s really important. I sense a disenchantment with me in particular and with psychotherapy in general. This despite the fact that we have made tremendous strides over the last seventeen years. But never mind all that. I wanted to apprise you of certain professional choices I’ve made that will address your concerns and open new avenues for treatment.

I have become a life coach.

My three months of intensive training at the You Got It! Institute of Boulder, CO were eye opening. Up until YGII I was unaware of “Facebook” and “Twitter” or that there existed a “fan page” about me, brilliantly crafted by you, with many lovely contributions from my other clients. As you know, I had been a strict Freudian and believed that an impermeable wall between therapist and patient was critical for unfolding the id and deconstructing the machinations of the super ego. How surprised I was, therefore, to see photos of my waiting room, my bathroom, my mother, even my ex-wife posted to my “page.” I’ve decided to “go with it” and have created a “page” of my own. The link is pasted below, but if, like the previous 158 bills…

--

--

Paul Greenberg

New York Times bestselling author of Four Fish as well as The Climate Diet and Goodbye Phone, Hello World paulgreenberg.org