How Not To Have An iPhone

It’s still possible, and, yes, it’s worth it

Paul Greenberg
3 min readFeb 6, 2023

--

Photo by Kostiantyn Li on Unsplash

What can you do when you don’t want an iPhone in your life but don’t want to be dubbed a curmudgeonly old luddite? How can you continue to make the case that attention, real attention to real life, is a precious commodity? How do you live in this world where sometimes even your front door requires a phone for entry and your family constantly complains about the burden that your persisting with phone-less-ness puts upon them?

This is something I’ve struggled with since I somewhat famously decided to quit my iPhone. After realizing that during the 12 years of my son’s life, 11 had been taken up with staring into its greedy little screen I had said enough is enough and switched to a flip phone. I had a little detour last year when my cell carrier dropped 3G (and thus my old flip), but then I dropped the replacement iPhone and shattered it. Thereafter I picked up a new 5G flip and resumed where I’d left off.

Treat the important humans in your life as humans, not as more of your “content.”

During that brief re-acquaintance with the iPhone I realized that it’s as addictive as ever. That even a sworn anti-phone person can be sucked right back in. But I also realized that there are some cases where an…

--

--

Paul Greenberg

New York Times bestselling author of Four Fish as well as The Climate Diet and Goodbye Phone, Hello World paulgreenberg.org