A Truly Unconnected Christmas

It’s time to crack the fiction of our constructed reality

Paul Greenberg
3 min readDec 20, 2021

--

Antarctica, photo by Paul Greenberg

A few Christmases ago, I had the unexpected good fortune to travel to Antarctica. It had to do with a book I was writing at the time. Something to do with my usual beat of fish, health and the environment. It no longer feels important.

What I ended up really learning from the experience is that there is something unfathomably valuable about looking day after day at landscapes that have no human presence. Slowly and steadily I came to realize my incredibly transient place in the world. In a few days I learned the lesson that a bazillion hours on a meditation cushion had been trying to drum into my head.

Through my porthole

Every “morning” I would wake and look through my porthole at the endless expanse of ice. I put morning in quotes because really there is no discernible morning or evening during the Antarctic summer. The sun just spins around the sky, giving you endless days of the same snow and ice. There are also no real time zones in Antarctica. Yes, the different countries of the world have decided that they should each have a say in what time it is in “their” part of Antarctica. But really it’s…

--

--

Paul Greenberg

New York Times bestselling author of Four Fish as well as The Climate Diet and Goodbye Phone, Hello World paulgreenberg.org