A Bad Job

Who else did crappy, meaningless work in their youth?

Paul Greenberg
5 min readSep 2, 2022

--

“Jobs Help Wanted” by Innov8social is licensed under CC BY 2.0. To view a copy of this license, visit https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0/?ref=openverseA Bad Job

The heads were in Barry’s trailer and I noticed them every time I went to drop off the ticket from the lumber yard. For a longtime I thought Barry’s name was Berry. In Colorado that was how people pronounced a name like Barry. I never asked how it was spelled just like I never asked what the arty looking paper mâché heads were doing in the contractor’s trailer. It seemed to me, a kid from the East just out of college, that working men out West said what the meant — no clarifications necessary. So, I called my boss Berry and didn’t say anything about the heads. After a while he told me that, really, his name was Barry, and I should stop calling him Berry.

I heard a crack and saw him drift past the window’s empty frame. He hit the ground hard and a nail went into his left buttock.

Barry was the general contractor for Boa Construction in Aspen. The other people on the crew were Steve and Phil. Steve said his real name was Omer Muchmore and he had a t-shirt from his old illusionist act that said “Magic and Muchmore.” He said that when he’d do his show in Vegas he was known as Muchmore the Magnificent. Steve also said that he’d fought in Vietnam. He said he’d gone over for revenge’s sake after his brother…

--

--

Paul Greenberg

New York Times bestselling author of Four Fish as well as The Climate Diet and Goodbye Phone, Hello World paulgreenberg.org